Skip to main navigation.


Director Elections

San Miguel Power members elect their board of directors by secret ballot at the Annual Meeting of Members held each summer or by mail-in vote. Board members are elected from the membership, by the membership. They are chosen from seven different districts within SMPA's service territory. Each district contains approximately 1,300 members and votes for their specific director representative. SMPA's board members serve four-year terms.  View the director district map.

SMPA directors have the responsibility of setting the strategic direction for the cooperative. Directors are required to represent the membership on a fair and impartial basis for the best interest of all members and attend regularly scheduled board meetings. Attendance at national, state and local meetings, where the interest of San Miguel Power is concerned, is often necessary as well.


All SMPA members have the right to vote for the director representative in their district and to run for election in their district.  Members elect their board of directors by secret mail-in ballot or at the Annual Meeting of the Membership.  Mail-in ballots must be received the day before the Annual Meeting or members may vote at the Annual Meeting. Please Note: To validate the ballot, the voter's signature must correspond to the name on the account. (This name is shown on the outside envelope in which all voting materials are enclosed.) Ballots of joint memberships may be signed by either party. For voting members other than individuals, signatures should include a title.

The SMPA Board of Directors has determined that the next Annual Meeting will be held in Ridgway on June 6, 2019.  Mail-in ballots for the District#2 Board election must be received by June 5, 2019.

In 2020, Districts #1 & #4 will be up for election.  In 2021, it will be Districts #5 & 7.  In 2022, it will be Districts #3 & #6.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Colorado Rural Electric Association Home Page Touchstone Energy Kids Zone Tri-State Generation and Transmission